Dupree rockets to Mayor's Cup win

PLATTSBURGH - Patrick Dupree gained 15 positions on two restarts during the first six laps, then passed Leon Gonyo for the lead on lap 16 and sped off to a convincing win in the Ernie's Tools Modified 30-lap Mayor's Cup event at Airborne Speedway. The win was Dupree's second of the season and it brought him within four points of point leader Martin Roy, who started 17th and finished 7th. "You have to try and get it done early," Dupree said. "I could put the car anywhere tonight and I was able to take advantage of a couple of openings on the outside. That was fantastic."

Gonyo was able to hold off a charge from third-place George Foley. Chris Cayea of Mooers got around Maxime Viens in lapped traffic on the white flag lap for fourth - his best finish of the year. Viens of St Cesaire, Quebec, landed his first top-5 of the year. Positions 6-10 went to Matt Woodruff, Roy, Aaron Bartemy, Don Scarborough and Greg Atkins. Thirty-one Modifieds started the race.

The J&S Steel Sportsman feature was in doubt until the final lap. Sixty-two year-old Bill Sawyer of Milton, VT and defending champion Bucko Branham went wheel to wheel for a dozen laps without ever separating by more than a half car-length while Chris Reeves and Skip Liberty tracked close behind. Sawyer and Branham swapped the lead twice before Branham twitched and lost ground on the white flag lap and Sawyer spun out opening the door for Reeves who shot under them both and came away with his first career win. Liberty got up for second - Branham settled for third.

"They got into each other and it opened the lane for me," Reeves explained. "I've been trying for three years to do this. It feels really good." Larry Under wood and Howard Stoner completed the top five. Jamy Begor and Richie Turner were 6th and 7th. Robin Wood, trying for his fifth straight win took a hit and left with overheating problems.

Mike Terry of Grand Isle won the Renegade feature by eight car lengths over Ken St Germaine of Ausable Forks and Ken Davies of Saranac. Dave Rabtoy finished fourth at Davies' rear wheel. Josh Allen placed fifth.

Rick Doner of Ausable Forks won the NAPA Mini Modified feature with point leader Bill Thwaits perched on his bumper. Dustin Duvall was third. Jayson Blondo of Champlain won the Bomber feature.

Airborne hosts the opening round of the Tri-State Sportsman Series, a 100-lap event, this Saturday, July 11.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment