Ti man keeps streak alive in LaPann road race

HAGUE - North Country runners again paid tribute to one of their own at the annual Fred LaPann Memorial Road Race in Hague Feb. 15.

Dave Burrows of Ticonderoga set the pace in the five-mile race, winning for the sixth consecutive year.

The race is held each year in conjunction with the annual Scholarship Weekend.

The race is named for LaPann, an accomplished Hague runner who died in 2001. He was known as the "Champ of Hague."

It started and finished at the Hague fire house. The course is an out-and-back race on West Hague Road.

While Burrows won the race, Theresa Kauffman of Wilmington, Del., stole the show.

Arriving after the race had already started, Kauffman jumped from her car and joined the race several minutes behind the field. She caught everyone but Burrows to finish second overall.

Kauffman was named the race's "Most Outstanding Runner" for her efforts.

Her mad dash from behind reminded runners of LaPann, who was once left inside a porta john as the annual Adirondack Distance Run, a 10-mile race from Lake George to Bolton, began.

"He came flying out there and took right off," recalled long-time friend Dick Johndrow with a smile. "He flew right past me. I had to ask what his hurry was."

Burrows won the masters division of the race with Kauffman second. Dave Natale of Ticonderoga was third.

Rich Kohler of Hazlet, N.J., won the junior division.

Travis Costello of Plattsburgh won the co-ed open division with Marge Hussman of Ticonderoga second and Meg Taylor of Kittery, Maine, third.

William "Red" McDonough of Port Henry won the senior class with Fred Herbst of Ticonderoga second and Karen Costello of Hague third.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment