CSC's Chadburn named to New England First Team

CASTLETON - The ECAC has announced the ECAC Division III New Courtney Chadburn England Women's Soccer All-Stars.

Meg Gearin of Westfield State picked up Offensive Player of the Year honors. The senior forward scored 19 goals and tallied four assists for 42 points while leading her team to an NCAA Tournament berth. Defensive Player of the Year went to Middlebury's Lauryn Torch.

Torch helped the No. 12 Panthers to an NCAA berth. She had a NESCAC leading eight shutouts, with a 0.81 goals against average. Nichols freshman Samantha Abro nabbed Rookie of the Year honors. Abro had an impressive collegiate debut, scoring 22 goals and five assists for 49 points.

This year's first team forward selections put up impressive numbers, with two players eclipsing the 60-point plateau. Lesley's Jodi Fralick led the charge with 32 goals and four assists for 68 points. The senior led her squad to an undefeated conference record, and an ECAC Championship berth. MCLA's Jess Tietgans was not far behind, tallying 30 goals and four assists for 64 points, also leading her squad to an ECAC Championship berth. Rounding out the forward selections is Castleton's Courtney Chadburn with 23 goals and six helpers for 52 points. Midfielder selections were Westfield State's Kate MacLellan, with eight goals and 15 assists for 31 points, Emmanuel's Kate McKenna with 21 goals and six assists for 48 points and Eastern Connecticut's Sarah Swann with 14 goals and five assists for 33 points.

Joining Torch as first team defensive selections are William's Kara Duggan, Wheaton's Lyndsey McManus, and Springfield's Courtney Price. Duggan helped the second-ranked Ephs hold opponents to a NESCAC best 0.45 goals per game. McManus helped the Wheaton College defense become the best in the NEWMAC, while also contributing seven goals and nine assists. Price led Springfield to the second best goals against average (0.86) in the NEWMAC, while chipping in offensively as well, with four goals and three assists. selected as the number one seed in the 2009 ECAC DIVISION III New England Women's Soccer Championship presented by FieldTurf. The tournament is an eight-team field with quarterfinal, semifinal and championship rounds.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment