Patriot wrestlers: "continue the legacy"

CLINTONVILLE - This year, the AuSable Valley wrestling team is looking to honor their late mentor.

"The team is driven to continue the legacy left behind by last year's head coach Travis Capen who was killed in an accident this August," said head coach John Dukett. "They want to win a dual meet this year for Travis, which was one of his goals last year."

Team captain John Dukett Jr., the returning sectional champion at 171 pounds, returns along with fellow seniors Brennen Smith, Kyle Doner, Devin Frazier, and Brandon Woodring. Juniors David Thompson, Lance Sawyer, Adam Luxon, James Braid, Francis Estes, and Dillon Traynor, together with sophomore Matt Lamere, also bring previous varsity experience.

New to the team are seniors Theron Betters, Trevor Sheehan, and Elisabeth McBrearity; juniors Brennan Parrish, Jordan Bouyea, and Tanner Crowningshield; sophomore Brian Pray; and freshmen Elijah Fitzgerald, Collin Fuller, Trever Howerton, Michael Thompson, Jeremy Owen, Jonathan Luxon, Brandon Abare, and Robert Gallagher.

"Its been a long time since the AVCS Wrestling team has been so motivated and hard working," Dukett added. "I expect them to upset some teams this year."

AuSable Valley Wrestling

Dec. 2 - At NAC

Dec. 8 - Saranac

Dec. 16 - Peru

Jan. 6 - Beekmantown

Jan. 14 - At Saranac

Jan. 28 - Peru

Feb. 2 - NAC

Feb. 6 - At Beekmantown

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment