Primary election candidates decided

ELIZABETHTOWN - Party tickets county-wide and in eleven different towns are being contested in primary elections scheduled for Sept. 15.

The deadline has passed for candidates to file their party-affiliated petitions with the Essex County Board of Elections, and several candidates, including many incumbents, are being challenged from within their party.

The following candidates will compete for their party's support in their respective races. Please note that candidates running unopposed within their party are not listed.

Essex County

Sheriff: Henry Hommes (R-C), incumbent; Michael Tyler (R). District attorney: Julie Garcia (R-D), incumbent; Kristy Sprague (R).

Crown Point

Town Council (two seats): Thomas Walter (R), incumbent; Robert Patnode (R); Walter Worth (R); Mary DeHart-Ross (R). Highway superintendent: Eugene Ingleston (R), incumbent; Cory Armstrong (R).


Highway superintendent: Dennis Aubin (R-D), incumbent; Arthur Glenn Muller (R).


Town Council (two seats): Archie Depo (D), incumbent; Fred Balzac (D-W).

Minerva Supervisor: David LaBar (R); Paul Clickner (R). Town Council (two seats): Douglas McCall (R), incumbent; Eric Klippel (R); Keith Dubay (R).


Town Council (two seats): Richard Carpenter (R), incumbent; Timothy Garrison (R); Laura Baker (R); Eugene Williams Jr. (R).


Highway superintendent: Mark Yandon (D), incumbent; John Helms (D).

North Hudson

Town Council (two seats): Ronald Moore (R), incumbent; Roscoe Herrick (R); Daniel Wachowski (R). Highway superintendent: James Colaneri (D), incumbent; Kelly DeZalia (R-D); Kevin Duntley (D).


Town Council (two seats): Roger Friedman (R), incumbent; Meg Wood (R); Bruce Caza (R).


Supervisor: Robert DeChame (R-D); Debra Malaney (R); R. William Grinnell (R).

Town Council (two seats): Robert Thatcher Sr. (R), incumbent; Steven Whitford (R), incumbent; Jeffrey Cook (R); Jorja Sanders (R).


Supervisor: Bruce Dunning (R); Bruce Ware (R-C).


Supervisor: Lori Lincoln-Spooner (R), incumbent; Robert Ashline (R). Town justice: Gregg Dickerson (R); Kenneth Coonrod (R), incumbent.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment