Quantcast

Lady Jags look to rebound in 2009

JOHNSBURG - The Johnsburg Lady Jaguars softball team looks to rebound this season, and with returning Mountain Valley Athletic Conference all-star pitcher Kelly Blackhurst, a strong 2009 showing shouldn't be a surprise.

The leadership will be provided by seniors Allison Ordway and Samantha Shook. Both of whom are valued corner infielders who can flash the leather when called upon.

"We are returning seven solid players this year," Coach Phil Goodman said. "The returning players should do well and the girls from the modified will make immediate contributions,"

With last year's 2-6 conference record, the Lady Jags look to rebound. The seven returning players are supplemented with six new additions - four up from modified and two are new to the game.

We hope to be competitive in the new division," Goodman said. "The rest of the division is hard to read."

Roster:

Brittney Allard P/IF

Kelly Blackhurst P/C

Chelsea Bromley OF

Kelly Brown OF

Cortina Greene P/OF

Brooke Guy OF

Amber Hocter OF

Allison Ordway 1B

Cassandra Prouty C/SS

Kelly Sherman OF

Samantha Shook 3B

Emily Smith IF/OF

Nicole Wardwell IF/OF

Margaret Welz OF

Brittany West IF/OF

Meltem Zeybek OF

2009 Johnsburg Varsity Softball

Thursday, April 9 at Luzerne

Monday, April 20 at Crown Point

Tuesday, April 21 at Indian Lake

Wednesday, April 22 Home w/ Minerva

Tuesday, April 28 Home w/ Luzerne

Wednesday, April 29 Home w/ Wells

Friday, May 1 at Minerva

Monday, May 4 Home w/ Westport

Wednesday, May 6 Home w/ Indian Lake

Thursday, May 7 at Wells

Monday, May 11 at Keene

Tuesday, May 12 Home w/ Northville

Wednesday, May 13 Home w/ Bolton

Monday, May 18 at Northville

Playoffs:

Wednesday, May 20 Div I vs. Div II

Friday, May 22 League Championship

Tuesday, May 26 Pre-lims

Thursday, May 28 Pre-lims

Saturday, May 30 Finals

Tuesday, June 2 Semi-Finals

0
Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment