Residents' Committee announces new board members

SARANAC LAKE Residents' Committee to Protect the Adirondacks announced this week its newest board members. RCPA, based in Saranac Lake, is a non-profit group advocating for conservation of the Adirondack Park's natural resources and the vitality of its communities. Anya Bickford of Indian Lake, and Lorraine Duvall of Keene were elected to the board of directors at the group's Sept. 6 annual meeting in Old Forge. The new board met on Wednesday, Oct. 15 in Long Lake. At this meeting, Ken Strike of Thendara was appointed to the board as an interim member and will face election in 2009. RCPA requires that its board be comprised of full-time residents of the Park. We are thrilled to have our membership elect such outstanding new board members said Michael Washburn, RCPA executive director. Anya knows the Park, its history, and the importance of conservation said Washburn. Lorraine is very well connected in her community and brings an important business background to the board he explained. Ken was named to fill an empty seat and brings an impressive academic resume and deep interest in Park issues to the table Washburn concluded. Strike is a professor at Syracuse University. Board chair Bob Harrison said, While our term limits required a few long time members to step off the Board, our new members bring additional strength and diversity to an active engaged Board of Directors." As of the September meeting, former board chair John Collins of Blue Mountain Lake, John Washburn of Benson and Joe Mahay of Paradox all finished their terms. Both Collins and Mahay will continue to actively serve on standing committees. The organization took on Michael Washburn in January as its new executive director and in April moved from North Creek to Saranac Lake. In 2008 RCPA has been focused on continuing its sustainable forestry and water quality programs, participating in mediation concerning the proposed Adirondack Club and Resort in Tupper Lake, and defending the State Land Master Plan through its work on the issue of motorized use at Low's Lake. Bickford, Duvall, and Strike join other incumbent board members including Nancy Bernstein of Vermontville, Dean Cook of Ticonderoga, Mary-Lou Doulin of Hague, Evelyn Greene of North Creek, Bob Harrison of Brant Lake, Peter Hornbeck of Olmsteadville, Peter O'Shea of Fine, and Marilyn Sargent of Edinburg. RCPA is a non-profit membership organization based in Saranac Lake. RCPA's mission is to protect the Adirondack Park's natural resources and human communities. RCPA was founded in 1990 and has over 2,500 members.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment