Boys and Girls Club honors Simpson

VERGENNES Monique Simpson and other teens from across the state who competed for the Boys and Girls Clubs of Vermont Youth of the Year title recently. The finalists vied for a chance to represent the state at a regional youth of the year event, where regional winners will go on to compete in the national youth of the year event in Washington, D.C. The six Vermont youngsters who were winners of their individual club competitions are: Albina Alieva of Northfield, Desiree Hathaway of Brattleboro, April Haskins of Rutland, Simpson of Vergennes, and Jesse Leibman of Montpelier. They were honored by Gov. Jim Douglas and a host of state legislators and other state leaders last week. The Youth of the Year program recognizes outstanding contributions to a members family, school, community and Boys and Girls Club; academic excellence; and personal challenges and obstacles overcome. Each candidate submits a written essay to demonstrate growth and accomplishment in the areas of home and family, spiritual values, community, school, service to club, life goals and obstacles overcome. The winner in each club goes on to compete for the state youth of the year title.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment