Westport boys take sectional title

WESTPORT For the first time in nearly 10 years, the Westport boys basketball team has claimed a sectional title. The Westport boys defeated Moriah, 45-19, in the final game of the Section VII, Class D play-offs at the SUNY Plattsburgh Field House March 1. Nathan Gay led the Eagles with 17 points, five rebounds and seven steals while Bo McKinley netted 13 points. Curtis Mead added nine rebounds. Saturday was one of the best defensive efforts of the year the kids came focused, ready to play, said coach Brad Rascoe. We were ready to play, and we executed our game plan the way wed been working on all week, said team co-captain Zach Sherman. The sectional title was the first for Westport since the 1998-99 season. Rascoe said the teams strength was in its defense, which dictated its offense. It was a rush at first. Were pretty confident in playing good defense and going out there and playing hard, said co-captain Michael Tyler. Co-captain Tanner Carroll agreed, adding that unselfishness helped the team. He said players were willing to share the ball. For Carroll, the win held particular significance, since its his senior year. The win came after a tough challenge for the Mountain & Valley Athletic Conference North title match against Schroon Lake, which Westport lost 65-56. We had a heartbreaker with Schroon Lake, but (our team) stayed focused all year, and even with the loss they got back to work, said Rascoe. The teams averages reflect the team-oriented philosophy, with different players leading statistically. Nathan Gay leads the team in points, averaging 12.6 a game, closely followed by Tanner Carrolls 10.6 point average and Curtis Meads 9.4 average. The team is also powerful under the basket, with Gay collecting 140 rebounds this year, and Mead pulling down 139 rebounds. The 15-2 Westport team will play Section II champion Northville 6 p.m. Friday, March 7, at the field house. By Monday, March 3, the team was back to work to prepare for the upcoming state competition. After reviewing a tape of the game, the players hit the court to run drills. Rascoe said this years team worked extremely well together. They all get along well, and the bench players are pushing the starters, said Rascoe. The teams members are Tanner Carroll, Bo McKinley, Zach Sherman, Sean Davis, Johnny Stahl, Michael Tyler, Colin MacIver, Curtis Mead, Christian Roth and Nathan Gay.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment