Johnson wins Master's Ski Jump and takes Devlin award

LAKE PLACID Anders Johnson of Park City, Utah completed a sweep of Lake Placid events in 2007 by winning the New Years Masters Ski Jump held Saturday, Dec. 29 on the 90 meter hill. Johnson, a 2006 Winter Olympian, previously captured the July 4 ski jump and followed that with a victory in the Flaming Leaves Festival in October. The three wins gave Johnson his second consecutive Art Devlin Cup. The award measures excellence over those three meets and is named after the Lake Placid native who competed in four Olympics before becoming a television commentator and member of the 1980 Lake Placid Olympic Organizing Committee. I knew about Art Devlin from years past and its an honor to win the trophy thats named after him, said Johnson. The award goes to the best jumper in three events. It helps that I like this hill and I jump well here. The win was worth $800 to Johnson, and he pocketed another $1,000 for taking the Art Devlin Cup. Despite winds that varied from strong to none at all, Johnson jumped 99.5 and 94 meters for a total of 251.5 points for distance and style. Before some 2,000 spectators, he easily outdistanced Evan Bliss of Lake Placid, who flew 88.5 and 90.5 meters and accumulated 226.5 points. I was in Europe for six weeks traveling and competing a lot, continued the winner. I went home for a few days for Christmas then came here and was really tired. But I got some rest when I got here. Now Im headed to the new hill in Vancouver (Canada, site of 2010 Winter Olympic ski jumping events). Then Im headed back to Europe and this result will help me. Nick Alexander of Lebanon, N.H. placed third after jumping 89 and 88.5 meters for 219.5 points. Willy Graves of Putney, Vt., a student at the National Sports Academy in Lake Placid, was sixth. Andrew Bliss, of Lake Placid, brother of Evan, took eighth. Cliff Field of Steamboat Springs, Colo., captured the junior division with attempts of 88.5 and 85.5 meters, totaling 210.5 points. Runner-up was Brian Wallace of Woodbury, Minn. with jumps of 84.5 and 90 meters. Wallace scored 209 points. Karl Denney finished third. The Coleraine, Minn. jumper rode 85 and 87 meter jumps for 200 points. Peter Frenette of nearby Saranac Lake, N.Y. wound up fourth, missing the podium by only half a point. Frenette, who jumped 86.5 and 84 meters, picked up 199.5 points. Sarah Hendrickson of Park City won the ladies bracket, jumping 88.5 and 91 meters. Hendricksons 218.5 points was seven better than Abby Hughes, also of Park City. Hughes jumps measured 84 and 93.5 meters. Karen Friberg of St. Paul, Minn. grabbed third spot with jumps of 83 and 84.5 meters and 188 points. Local skier Danielle Lussi of Lake Placid finished sixth on the night. For complete results of the New Years Masters Ski Jump, please log on to www.orda.org .

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment