McCain names Vt. campaign leaders

U.S. Sen. John McCain's presidential campaign officially announced its Vermont Leadership Team this week along with endorsements from state legislators and prominent Republican party leaders. McCain was in Burlington last week to greet campaign supporters. "John McCain is the conservative who can rally and unify our party for victory in November," said Gov. Jim Douglas with McCain at his side in Burlington Feb. 14. "John has a 24-year record of being strong on national security, cutting taxes and wasteful spending, and reforming and restoring trust in government to make our country stronger." McCain thanked Vermont supporters and the states party leadership: "I am grateful to Jim and all of the Republican leaders working on my behalf in Vermont. I look forward to working with each of them and to campaigning in the state in 2008." McCains Vermont campaign coordinators General Chair - Gov. Jim Douglas Honorary Co-Chair - Lt. Governor Brian Dubie Honorary Co-Chair - Hon. Barbara Snelling, former lt. governor and former Vermont First Lady Co-Chair - Hon. Randy Brock, former state auditor Co-Chair - Chris Roy, Williston Vice Chair - Rep. Steve Adams, House Republican leader Vice Chair - Hon. Walter Freed, former speaker of the house Vice Chair - Rep. Rick Hube, former House majority leader Vice Chair - Anne McClaughry, former Vermont Republican Party vice chair Vice Chair - Sen. Kevin Mullin, asst. Senate Republican leader Veterans Chair - Rep. Joe Krawzcyk Vermont legislators supporting McCain State Senators: George Coppenrath Bill Doyle, Senate minority leader Phil Scott State Representatives: Joe Acinapura, former Vermont Republican Party chair David Ainsworth Joe Baker, Vermont Republican Party asst. treasurer Donald Bostic Carolyn Branagan Bill Canfield David Clark Greg Clark John Clerkin Dennis Devereux Andy Donaghy Joyce Errecart Peg Flory, former House minority leader Bob Helm Bill Johnson Tom Koch Patti Komline, asst. House minority leader Steve Larrabee Leigh Larocque Kathy Lavoie Dick Lawrence Judy Livingston Mike Marcotte Patricia McDonald Francis "Topper" McFaun Mary Morrissey Linda Myers Patty O'Donnell Kitty Oxholm Harvey "Bud" Otterman Heidi Scheuermann Loren Shaw Leo Valliere Scott Wheeler Phil Winters Kurt Wright, Burlington City Council president Vermont GOP leaders supporting McCain Suzanne Butterfield, Vermont Republican Party secretary and Windsor County GOP chair Richard Bayer, Grand Isle County GOP chairman Paul Carroccio, Republican Party vice chairman Susan Hudson, Vermont Republican Party executive committee Ambassador Rodolphe "Skip" Vallee, former Republican Party national committeeman Rob Roper, Republican Party chair Jay Shepard, Vermont Republican Party executive committee Nancy Polk, Addison County GOP chair Jim Lewis, Bennington County GOP chair Aaron Melville, Caledonia County GOP chair Jon Hughes, Chittenden County GOP chair Ken Copp, Essex County GOP chair Jim Black, Lamoille County GOP chair Mary Daly, Orange County GOP chair Chet Greenwood, Orleans County GOP chair Dorothy Hayden, Washington County GOP chair. CUTLINE: U.S. Sen. John McCain meets ex-Vergennes Mayor and now State Rep. Kitty Oxholm (R-Addison 3) at a Hinesburg rally in 2006. Photo by J. Kirk Edwards

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment