Poplawski wins VSWGA championship

Teo Poplawski of Champlain Country Club has won the 2008 VSWGA State Amateur Championship by two strokes over defending champion Molly Aronsson of Burlington Country Club. Molly closed the gap to within two strokes firing the low round of the tournament (75) but Teo hung on to her lead shooting a final round of 77. Teo was the only player to score in the 70s all three days over the difficult Haystack course. Her three day total was 234. Molly's three-day total was 236. Catherine Shomo of Proctor-Pittsford was third at 240. Kim Wong of Barre finished in fourth place at 242. Reggie Parker of Ekwanok was fifth at 245 and Rutland's young junior player, Keely Levins, fired a final round of 78 for a 248 total and sixth place.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment