JOHNSBURG Locally, its common knowledge that the town of Johnsburg derives its name from John Thurman, the original patentee who purchased the land that now comprises the town back in 1788.
Thurman not only purchased the land that is Johnsburg, but also that which comprises present day Thurman, Bolton, Chester, Warrensburg, Stony Creek and part of Lake George.
Johnsburg broke off from the old town of Thurman on April 6, 1805, staking for itself a new identity based largely on the logging, mining and tanning industries.
But Johnsburg wouldnt be Johnsburg without its 10 hamlets, each possessing a unique flavor and influence. The history of the town is revealed through the 10 hamlets that make up Johnsburg.
The origins of those 10 hamlets are documented in the book River, Rails and Ski Trails.
It was to that book that Johnsburg Town Historian Doris Patton referred a reporter who came seeking information about the origins of the names of the hamlets of the town of Johnsburg.
Some of the hamlets such as North Creek, North River, Garnet Lake and The Glen base their names on geography. The hamlet of North Creek sits at the confluence of North Creek and the Hudson River.
Though historians dont specifically identify the origin of the name North River, logic suggests the hamlet is so named because of its location on Thirteenth Brook where it meanders into the Hudson River at northern most point in Warren County.
The hamlet of Garnet Lake sits at the north end of a body of water by the same name. Both the lake and the hamlet owe their names to the rich heritage of garnet mining in the town, an industry that thrives to this day under the auspices of the Barton Group.
The Glen is named for its landscape. Glen is of Scottish origin meaning a narrow valley or depression between tall mountains or hills. The first recorded mention of The Glen is in a 1793 road survey for the town of Thurman.