Merrihew, Ashline face challengers in Republican primary

Jay: There is no primary in Jay, but there will be a five-way race for town board in the general election. Democrats Daniel Vincent and Henry Lowther will face Republican Thomas McDonald and Gerald Hall and Independeent John Sheldrake.

Republican Daniel Deyoe is seeking the town justices slot unopposed. Incumbent John Snow is not seeking re-election.

Keene: There is no primary in Keene, but there will be a three-way race for town board in the general election. Democrat Naj Wikoff, incumbent Democrat Marcy Neville and incumbent Republican Lawrence Jaques are all seeking seats.

Supervisor Republican William Ferebee, Assessor Republican William Washburn and Town Justice Republican Kent Wells are seeking relection. Independent Donna Combs is running unopposed to fill a vacent accessors slot.

Lewis: There is no primary in Lewis. In the general election, Republican David Blades is running unopposed to fill the supervisors position vacated by Anthony Glebus, and Democratic incumbent Charles Martin will face Democrat Francis Drake and Republican Stephen Denton Jr. will vie for two seats on the town board. Kenneth Whittemore is not seeking re-election. Republican James Pulsifer is seeking another term as town justice.

Westport: There is no primary or contested election in the town of Westport. Westport supervisor Democrat Daniel Connell is seeking another term, town councilmen Republican Michael Ike Tyler and Republican Edward Smith are seeking another term, and Democrat Brenda McCooey is running for another term as town clerk/tax collector.

Willsboro: Incumbent Robert Ashline is challenged by Lori Torrance seeking the Republican primary nomination for town supervisor. Ashline will also run on the Independent line in the general election. Town clerk Beverly Moran (R) is running unopposed for re-election.

While there is no primary for town council, there will be a four-way race in the general election. Democrats Robald Bruce and Steve Benway will face incumbent Republicants Spencer Stafford Sr. and Darren Darrah.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment