Merrihew, Ashline face challengers in Republican primary

ELIZABETHTOWN - It's a fairly slow primary season this year, but local elections will likely heat up this November as several area supervisors fight to keep their seats.

This year's primary will take place on Tuesday, Sept. 18 from noon-9 p.m.. Originally slated to take place a week before, the date was pushed back in New York State out of respect for 9-11 observances.

The only county wide election in 2007 is for county clerk. Incumbent Joseph Provoncha of North Hudson is running as a Republican, and is unopposed. Local races include:

Chesterfield: There is no primary in the town of Chesterfield, but a three-way race for two councilmen's positions will take place in the general elections. Imcumbent Republican Russell Blaise is seeking relection, and will face challengers Republican Michael Leclair and Joseph Kusalonis.

Other incumbents are running unopposed for four year terms. Democrat Gerald Morrow is seeking another term as supervisor, Republican Lynn Jarvis is seeking another term as town clerk, Republican Philip Pray is seeking another term as superintendent of highways, and Democrat Bruce Bourgeois Jr. is seeking another term as tax collector.

Elizabethtown: Imcumbent Noel Merrihew III is challenged by current Councilman Joseph Martin seeking the Republican primary nomination for town supervisor. Merrihew and Martin will both run in the general election as Independents, while Martin will also appear on the Democratic ticket.

A three-way general election race for town board will take place. Incumbent Republicans Philip Hutchins and Michael Mcginn will face Margaret Bartley, who is running on the Democratic and Independent lines, to keep their seats.

Republican Dennis Aubin is running unopposed for another two year term as superintendent of highways.

Essex: There are no contested races in Essex. In the general election, Republican Ronald Jackson is running for re-election as town supervisor, Republican Audrey Hoskins is seeking the town clerk/tax collector slot, and Republicans Stephen Sayward Jr. and Mark Wrisley are seeking re-election as town councilmen. Republicans Grace Drummond and David Sayre are seeking re-election as accessors, and James Morgan Jr. is seeking re-election as superintendent of highways.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment