VTrans gets safety award

The Vermont Agency of Transportation (VTrans) has been nationally recognized for its outstanding work on highway safety programs that reduce fatalities and serious injury. The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) this week praised the work of VTrans Work Zone Working Group, and bestowed the group with a Roadway Safety Award. The award was announced earlier this week by the Roadway Safety Foundation and the Federal Highway Administration. Vermont, which received an honorable mention award, was one of 12 states recognized by the organizations. State departments of transportation are working with local agencies, law enforcement, schools and the public to put an end to the devastating loss of life on our nations highways, said AASHTO Executive Director John Horsley. These programs have made a real difference, and they serve as models to us all. Vermonts Work Zone Working Group was established in 2002 by VTrans as a way to not only raise awareness about work zone safety, but to establish uniformity to how work zones operate so both drivers and workers know what to expect when either traveling through or working within a work zone. The group is comprised of members from VTrans, the Federal Highway Administration, Associated General Contractors of Vermont, the Vermont Occupational Safety and Health Administration, the Vermont League of Cities and Towns, the Vermont Local Roads Program, the Governors Highway Safety Program, local law enforcement, local fire servces and utility companies.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment