Absentee votes settle Town Board race

JOHNSBURG With absentee ballots counted, the race for two seats on the Johnsburg Town Board appears to be settled. Republican Frank Morehouse, Jr., will join the board replacing Alyce VanKeuren who is retiring. Incumbent Republican Eugene Arsenault came in second to retain his seat. In final, unofficial vote tallies, Morehouse earned 419 votes, Arsenault 374, and Democratic, Conservative and Smart Growth parties candidates Ron Vanselow and Marko Schamle 366 and 267 votes respectively. Prior to counting absentee ballots, Arsenault had a narrow four-vote lead over Vanselow. Absentees doubled the margin to a still narrow eight votes. Still unresolved is who will replace Republican Sterling Goodspeed on the board. Goodspeed succeeded in his bid to replace retiring Town Supervisor Bill Thomas, thereby creating a vacancy in his seat on the board. It is up to the board to either choose someone to fill the seat for the two remaining years of Goodspeeds unexpired term or to follow the protocol to be granted the right to hold a special election prior to the next general election. The board will likely make that decision in coming weeks.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment