Voters choose change for town supervisors

ELIZABETHTOWN Voters went to the polls on Tuesday, and have shaken up local leadership. Three of the four contested supervisors races in the Valley News circulation area went to the challengers. The following election results are still unofficial, and do not include absentee ballots. County clerk Joseph Provoncha garnered 5,226 votes, running unopposed. Chesterfield
Joseph Kusalonis received 480 votes, while Russell L. Blaise received 369 votes and Michael J. LeClair had 364 votes. Two board seats are currently available. Running unopposed, Supervisor Gerald H. Morrow received 593 votes, town clerk Lynn A. Jarvis had 382 votes, Superintendent of Highways Philip W. Pray had 464 votes, and tax collector Bruce L. Bourgeois Jr. received 576 votes. Elizabethtown
In Elizabethtown, Noel H. Merrihew III was re-elected as supervisor with 248 votes, fending off a challenge by joseph E. Martin, who received 177 votes. Philip G. Hutchins (262 votes) and Michael J. McGinn (226 votes) were re-elected to town board. Margaret Bartley came in third with 213 votes. Running unopposed, Dennis L. Aubin had 321 votes for Superintendent of Highways. Essex
Essex had no contested races. Supervisor Ronald E. Jackson received 80 votes, town clerk/tax collector Audrey J. Hoskins received 89 votes, councilmen Mark A. Wrisley received 82 votes and Stephen A. Sayward Jr. received 81 votes. Assessors David H. Sayre received 74 votes and Grace I. Drummond had 72 votes. James Z. Morgan Jr. was re-elected Superintendent of Highways with 95 votes. Jay
In Jay, a five-way race for two town council seats was won by Thomas L. McDonald with 405 votes, and incumbent Gerald E. Hall with 306 votes. John J. Sheldrake had 241 votes, Daniel D. Vincent had 218 votes and Henry D. Lowther had 76 votes. Daniel M. Deyoe was re-elected town justice with 430 votes. Keene
A three-way race for two town board seats was won by incumbents Marcy Neville (296 votes) and Lawrence R. Jaques (202 votes). Naj M. Wikoff had 158 votes. Running unopposed, William B. Ferebee had 305 votes for supervisor, Kent T. Wells had 267 votes for town justice, and assessors William M. Washburn was elected with 190 votes and Donna A. Combs was elected with 149 votes. Lewis
Lewis will have a new supervisor, with David H. Blades collecting 299 votes. Incumbent Supervisor Anthony Glebus collected 101 votes through a write-in campaign. Incumbent Councilman Charles H. Martin was re-elected with 317 votes, while Stephen Denton Jr. secured the open seat with 298 votes. Francis E. Drake came in third with 151 votes. Town justice James P. Pulsifer was re-elected with 285 votes, running unopposed. Westport
There were no contested races in the town of Westport. Running unopposed, Daniel W. Connell was re-elected town supervisor with 173 votes, town clerk/tax collector BRenda M. McCooey had 184 votes, town justice William J. LaHendro had 196 votes, and Councilmen Edward E. Smith (167 votes) and Michael Ike Tyler (192) were re-elected. Willsboro
Lori L. Torrance will be the next Willsboro supervisor, defeating incumbent Robert A. Ashline 452-212. The two available council seats will be filled by Steven K. Benway (368 votes) and incumbent Spencer A. Stafford Senior (310 votes). Ronald C. Bruno had 299 votes and incumbent Darren R. Darrah had 294 votes. Running unopposed, town clerk/tax collector Beverly P. Moran had 595 votes, and Superintendent of Highways Peter A. Jacques had 477 votes. Wilmington
In Wilmington, Randy Preston defeated incumbent Supervisor Jeanne C. Ashworth, 319-183. Running unopposed, Gerald L. Bruce was elected town clerk/tax collector with 268 votes, town justice Robert Kirby received 150 votes, assessor Alphonso Smith received 282 votes, and Superintendent of Highways Marcel E. Bruce was re-elected with 329 votes. Darin A. Forbes was elected to town council with 260 votes while incumbent Stephen J. Corvelli received 316 votes, and Rarilee Conway received 228 votes for an unexpired-two year term on board.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment