TICONDEROGA There is little political intrigue in the area this fall. No area supervisor is facing a challenge in the Nov. 6 general election and many other candidates are running unopposed. On the ballot are:

The only contested race in Ticonderoga is for highway superintendent. Running are Republican Arthur Morrison Sr and independents Phil Huestis and Paul Sharkey. Huestis is the incumbent. Also seeking office in Ti are Robert C. Dedrick as supervisor, Tonya Thompson as town clerk, James OBryan as justice and Wayne Taylor and Dorcey Crammond as town board members. All are Republicans and incumbents, except Thompson. Although Thompson is not technically the incumbent, she has been serving as town clerk in the absence of Paul Buckman for more than two years.
Crown Point
There are no contested races in Crown Point. Supervisor Dale French, Town Clerk Linda Woods, Justice Arthur Miclette, town board members Charles Mazurowski and Yvonne Dushane, assessors Glen Porter Jr. and Stephen MacKay and highway superintendent Eugene Ingleston are all running without opposition. All are Republicans and all are incumbents.
There are no contested races in Moriah. Running unopposed are Tom Scozzafava for supervisor, Elaine Adkins for town clerk, Brian Venne for justice, Thomas Anderson and Paul Salerno for town board, E.B. Tom Carpenter and Brent Ida for assessors and Jamie Wilson for highway superintendent. All are Republicans except Ida, an independent.
North Hudson
Four candidates are vying for two town board seats in North Hudson. Running are Democrat Alvin Provoncha and Republican Donald Dresser, both incumbents, along with Democrat Donald Langworthy and Conservative Robert Howard. Kelly DeZalia, a Democrat, and Kevin Moses, a Republican, will square off for highway superintendent. Running unopposed are Democrat Robert Dobie for supervisor, Democrat Sally Vinskus for town clerk, Democrat Sindy Brazee and Independent Michael Marsden for assessor and Republican Martha King for tax collector. All are incumbents.
Schroon has races for town clerk, town board and highway superintendent. Running for clerk are Republican Pat Savarie and Independent Kimberly Gould. Seeking two seats on the town board are Democrat Mark Whitney, Independent Shawn Baker, Republican Clara Phibbs, Independent Richard Simpson, Republican Laura Donaldson and Independent Bruce Caza. Phibbs is an incumbent. Running for highway superintendent are Republican Charles David McKenna and independents Charles Hall, Dana Shaughnessy and Donald Bessey. Running unopposed are Catherine Moses for supervisor and Richard Schoenstadt and Richard Newell for assessor. All are incumbents.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment