Oklahoma! comes to Ti

TICONDEROGA Delayed, but not deterred, Ticonderoga Middle School students finally presented Oklahoma! Feb. 28. The production, originally scheduled for Feb. 15, was delayed because of the Valentines Day snowstorm and a subsequent school break. Written by Rogers and Hammerstein, Oklahoma! is set in Oklahoma Territory outside the town of Claremore in 1906, and tells the story of cowboy Curly McLain and his romance with farmer girl Laurey Williams. Their love is challenged by Laurey's threatening farmhand, Jud Fry, and much of the play follows the contest between Curly and Jud for Laurey's affections. A comic subplot follows Laurey's friend, Ado Annie Carnes and her on-again/off-again relationship with cowboy Will Parker. Under the direction of music teachers Patricia Cornell and Andre Gordon, the play featured some well-known songs, such as Oh What a Beautiful Mornin, The Surrey With the Fringe on the Top, Poor Jud is Daid and the title tune Oklahoma! Assisting with the direction were Kathy Marshall and Jolene Harrigan. Students performing included Autumn Winney as Aunt Eller, Christopher Burns as Curly, Megan Moser as Laurey, Connor Backus as Jud, Riley Chapman as Will, Victoria Walters as Ado Annie, Tony Priest as Peddler, Keeley Andrushko as Gertie, Sean Smith as Andrew Carnes, Anthony Costello as Ike, Dan Hermann as Cord, Michael Barber as Fred, Karney Manning as Mike, Dustin Corey as Tom, Hannah Herbst as Vivian, Aubrey Backus as Ellen and Shelby Patnode as Kate. Serving as understudies were Keeley Andrushko, Riley Chapman, Aubrey Backus, Anthony Costello, Sean Smith, Ashley Costello and Shelby Patnode. Performing as the Ladies were Becky Barber, Alaina Bevilacqua, Ashley Costello, Jessica Garrow, Kristian Gibbs, Rhyan Hall, Alyssa Raymond and Courtney Shaner. The stage crew included Tony Priest as stage manager, Harley Trudeau, Abigail Gurney, Taylor Ward and Michael Fuller. Brittney Lynch, Jessica Blodgett and Caksie Granger handled the program and publicity; Megan Barber was the prompter; and artists were Samantha Cawley, Emily Palmer, Elsie Phillips and Ariele Vilardo. Playing the band were Megan Barber, Amanda Charlton, Katelyn Mercer and Shelby Patnode on flute; Jolene Harrigan on oboe; Keeley Andrushko, Alaina Bevilacqua, Ashley Costello, Hannah Herbst, Brittney Lynch,Alyssa Raymond, Harley Trudeau, Victoria Walters, Sierra Woodard and Anita Zhang on clarinet; Jessica Blodgett, Riley Chapman, Kelly Dunn, Joe Johus and Nate Lenhart on alto sax; Nelson Shapiro on tenor sax; Michael Barber, Ricky Osier and Tony Priest on trumpet; Valerie Dixon and Emily Smith on baritone; Karney Manning and Shane Swinton on French horn; Anthony Costello, Andre Gordon and Jordan Millington on trombone; Kevin Densmore and Matt Nolan on percussion and Patricia Cornell on piano.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment