Winterbottom honored for outstanding volunteer contributions

PLATTSBURGH A life-long resident of Clinton County has been named the recipient of the 2007 Lillian B. Redcay Award for her outstanding volunteer contributions to community mental hygiene services. The Clinton County Community Services Board of Directors recognized Terri Winterbottom, Plattsburgh, with a ceremony in her honor at the Clinton County Advocacy and Resource Center Nov. 15. During the event, Ms. Winterbottom was credited with playing a pivotal role in founding the National Alliance on Mental Illness of Champlain Valley, commonly referred to as NAMI: CV. Ms. Winterbottom served as the organizations first president from 2002 to 2005, and remains involved with a variety of NAMI: CV activities, including facilitating a monthly support group for family members of those with mental illness. In her nomination of Ms. Winterbottom for the award, NAMI: CV executive director Marguerite Adelman wrote, Terri thinks outside the box as far as helping others to reach their goals; she works with empathy and hope with all consumers and families that she comes in contact with. During her address at Ms. Winterbottoms award ceremony, Ms. Adelman quoted Booker T. Washington who said, There are two ways of exerting ones strength: one is pushing down, the other is pulling up. Terri Winterbottom is an extremely strong person, said Ms. Adelman, who has spent many years of her life pulling people up especially family members of a loved one with a mental illness as well as mental health consumers. A demonstration of her undying enthusiasm to help others, said Ms. Adelman, has been seen in how she has trained to be a NAMI Family to Family course facilitator for the local NAMI chapter. She even went as far as traveling to St. Louis, Mo., to train to be a Family to Family teacher of teachers, she added. If that werent enough, Ms. Winterbottom continues to provide weekly phone support to a large number of individuals with an adult loved one with mental illness, Ms. Adelman said. She also continues to remain active in ongoing NAMI fundraising and annual membership campaigns, most recently coordinating the organizations annual Harvest Friendraising Dinner. Ms. Winterbottom secured food to feed more than 200 people and enlisted and trained volunteers literally all aspects of the dinner, as Ms. Adelman said. Because Terri offers unconditional and ongoing support and resources to so many individual and families affected by mental illnesses in our region, we are please she has been selected for this year;s Redcay Award. Im really flattered, honored and also very humbled by this, Ms. Winterbottom said upon accepting the award. NAMI has been very important to me. Its like family; everyone works together and its been just so important to me. I guess when you care so much about something, it just kind of come easy. You do what you need to do and its something everyone at NAMI seems to do. I really believe active folks that suffer from these illnesses are the ones who really deserve this award, Ms. Winterbottom continued. I so admire their courage and their strength. I have so much admiration, as we all should ... All the successful projects that Ive been involved with in NAMI, its all been a joint effort and always the hard work of many. I accept this award on behalf of NAMI. In addition to the recognition, Ms. Winterbottom received $500 to donate to the organization of her choice, as has been tradition for the award winner for the past 20 years. True to her commitment to NAMI, the donation went to the not-for-profit organization. The Lillian B. Redcay Award memorializes the efforts of Lillian B. Redcay, a professor at the State University of New York at Plattsburgh, who is credited for being instrumental in the encouragement and development of public mental health services in Clinton County in the 1960s and 70s. Ms. Redcay served two terms as chair of the Clinton County Mental Health Board and saw the board through its evolution into the CCCSB that exists today, 25 years after her death. Past honorees include Peg Clark, 1986; Kit Booth, 1987; Karl Kramer, 1988; Nancy Nicotera, 1989; Janet Calkins, 1990; Olon Gough, 1991; Tom Moran, 1992; David DiRenzo, 1993; Nancy Rockwell, 1994; Robert Wood, 1995-1996; Edward and Gladys McShane, 1997; Gilbert Dunken, 1998-1999; Ted Kowalczyk, 2000; Betty Conway, 2001; William Kilduff, 2002; John Flanzer, 2003; Kelly Jarrard, 2004; Angela Bryant Forrence, 2005; and Kenneth Peryer, 2006.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment