Ti Junior Miss at state competition

TICONDEROGA Brynn Armstrong of Orchard Park was awarded the title of New Yorks Junior Miss 2007 March 31 in Buffalo. Along with her title, she received a $4,000 cash scholarship, college-granted scholarships from schools across the country, the official Junior Miss Medallion, and all expense paid trip to Mobile, Ala. A panel of five judges selected her from a field of 16 high school seniors competing in the 49th annual New Yorks Junior Miss scholarship program. Competing in the event was 2007 Ticonderoga Junior Miss Brianna Backus, daughter of Shannon and Jillene Backus. Armstrong will go on to compete in the 50th Annual Americas Junior Miss National Finals in Mobile, Ala., in June 2007, where she will have the opportunity to win a share of more than $100,000 in cash scholarships. The categories in which the contestants were evaluated were interview, talent, fitness and self-expression. A separate panel evaluated the contestants in the scholastics category. In addition to winning the overall award, Armstrong also received the Be Your Best Self Essay award ($350), a self-expression award ($200), and a talent award ($200), for a total of $4,750 in cash scholarship awards. Mary Morgan of Elba was second runner-up. She received a $1,000 scholarship for this award. She also received a scholastic award and a $200 scholarship, for a total of $1,200 in scholarships. Second runner-up was Claire Wietig of Amherst, who received a $500 scholarship. She also received a $200 scholarship for self-expression. Other awards included Chelsea Chambers (Whitehall) Elaine Mack Community Service award ($1,000); Elyse Putorti (Whitehall) Spirit of Junior Miss ($250), fitness ($200); Chelsea Barrett (Jamestown) fitness ($200); Sarah Colton (North Tonawanda) scholastic ($200); and Kerri McKenna (Albion) talent ($200). New Yorks Junior Miss is an official preliminary of Americas Junior Miss (AJM). Founded in 1958, AJM is the oldest and largest scholarship program for high school senior girls. The nonprofit programs goal is to honor young women who excel and encourage them to obtain a college education and assume roles of leadership in their communities and professions. During the past 49 years, AJM has awarded cash scholarships totaling almost $90 million to girls across the nation. More than 700,000 young college-bound young women have competed in the program, including Diane Sawyer, co-host of ABCs Good Morning America and co-anchor of Primetime Thursday; Deborah Norville, host of Inside Edition; E.D. Hill, an anchor on Fox News Channels Fox and Friends; and Debra Messing, co-star of NBCs Will & Grace.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment